Delete my account
Deleting your account is the first step to resetting it or combining multiple accounts. If you do not have access to your two-factor authentication method, it will take at least 24 hours to delete your account.
After you delete your account, you will not be able to sign in to the government applications that you normally use this account for. You will not lose the information in those application profiles, but you will need to relink a new login.gov account to be able to sign in to them.
To delete your account, use the steps below:
- Go to https://secure.login.gov/
- Sign in with your email, password, and authentication method
- On the Your Account page, scroll to the bottom and click on “Delete”
- Confirm that you are sure you want to delete your account by clicking on “Delete account”
If you don’t have access to your authentication methods, use the steps below:
- Go to your government application sign in page or to https://secure.login.gov/
- Sign in with your email and password
- On the authentication page (enter your security, app, or backup code; PIV/CAC card; or security key), click on “Choose another security option”
- Scroll to the bottom and click on the “deleting your account” link
- Read through all the information carefully to make sure deleting your account is your only option
- Click on “Yes, continue deletion”
- You will immediately receive an email confirming that we receive your request to delete your account. Your account is not deleted yet. As a security measure, you must wait 24 hours for a second email and click on the link.
- 24 hours later, you will receive a second email. You must open the email and confirm that you want to delete your account by clicking on the link. (Note: The link will expire after 24 hours. Afterwards, you will have to start the account deletion process again.)
If you are deleting your account to combine it with another, you can now add this email address to your other account. Then, you can relink your application profiles.
If you are resetting your account, you can now relink your application profiles.